Sylvan Winds group

Harlem Mosaic

The Sylvan Winds are thrilled to present this program at Mount Morris Ascension Presbyterian Church featuring the work of the first African-American to win the Pulitzer Prize in composition, George Walker as well as another important and rarely performed work for wind quintet by the founder of the Modern Jazz Quartet, John Lewis. We also celebrate the emerging new voice of Valerie Coleman and pay tribute to Still, Joplin, Ellington, Fitzgerald, and W.C. Handy!

Gunther Schuller Suite for Woodwind Quintet (1958)
George Walker Wind Set (1999)
John Lewis Portraits
Scott Joplin Rags
Thelonius Monk Round Midnight
Valerie Coleman Umoja
W.C. Handy St. Louis Blues
William Grant Still Miniatures